District|Maharashtra
Satara district
None of the 11 talukas is over-exploited, though 2 are semi-critical, and 93.0% of households are recorded with a tap, with the gap concentrated in Patan and Phaltan.
Read as of 2026-09-01, from 1502 Gram Panchayats in 11 blocks, 1467 of them with a brief that cleared the evidence floor.
District stage of extraction 57.9%, assessed safe. Assessed per revenue taluka, not per block or Panchayat.
5,65,298 connections against 6,07,637 households in 1467 Panchayats.
5,736 sources on the JJM register, 4,331 of them open well; 871 on surface water.
Type a name, a block or an LGD code; all 1,502 are listed. Press Enter to open the first match, or browse by block further down.
What would sharpen this reading
- A current irrigation reading by source: the canal, well and tank shares below are the Census 2011 pattern (reference year 2009); the Satara District Socio-Economic Review's irrigation-by-source table stops at 2015-16 with the wells column not stated, and the Land Use Statistics and Minor Irrigation Census tables are not wired.
- Where the next connections in Patan, Phaltan, Satara, Mahabaleshwar, Jaoli, Man, Khatav, Koregaon, Wai and Karad would draw from, before the tap gap closes on the same aquifer.
- A water balance: the District Environment Plan on file (Environment Department, Government of Maharashtra, 2018-19) is on the CPCB model and prints no demand, supply or deficit table.
What the district runs on
Irrigation from the Census village tables (Census 2011 release; village reference year 2009), drinking water from the sources JJM records today. A Panchayat without a measure lowers that measure’s denominator rather than counting as a zero.
- Canals11.6%(47,602 ha)
- Wells28.5%(1,16,953 ha)
- Tanks0.9%(3,693 ha)
- Other sources59.0%(2,42,113 ha)
Census 2011 village tables, covering 1461 of 1502 Panchayats with a land record. A historical baseline, not current cropping.
- Ground Water84.0%(4,821)
- Surface Water15.2%(871)
- Bulk water (from MVS)0.3%(19)
- Rain Water0.3%(18)
- Traditional0.1%(5)
- Others0.0%(2)
JJM, read 2026-09-01. Commonest source types: Open Well (4,331), Spring (515), Deep Tubewell (461), River (180).
84.0% of the 5,736 drinking-water sources JJM records here draw on groundwater (4,331 of them open wells), against 871 on surface water.
Groundwater by taluka
IN-GRES assesses revenue talukas, not blocks or Panchayats. These are the units the district is actually assessed in, and the headroom reading is written from them.
IN-GRES 2024-2025 puts total groundwater availability across the 11 talukas at 1,13,514 ham a year, 65,463 ham of it rainfall recharge, with 48,052 ham (42.3%) left for future use. Of the 11 talukas, 2 semi-critical and 9 safe. The district as a whole is assessed safe at 57.9% of extraction. Headroom sits mostly in Satara (11,858 ham) and is thinnest in Mahabaleshwar (150 ham).
| Taluka | Stage of extraction | Category | Rainfall recharge (ham) | Total availability (ham) | Left for future use (ham) | Rainfall (mm) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Man | 76.3% | semi-critical | 10,347 | 14,256 | 3,376 | 608 |
| Khatav | 76.1% | semi-critical | 8,263 | 12,188 | 2,908 | 597 |
| Khandala | 66.5% | safe | 2,405 | 4,485 | 1,503 | 548 |
| Wai | 62.2% | safe | 4,418 | 9,219 | 3,484 | 2194 |
| Phaltan | 61.5% | safe | 7,312 | 17,169 | 6,603 | 580 |
| Karad | 58.2% | safe | 7,225 | 13,165 | 5,636 | 1100 |
| Patan | 56.4% | safe | 2,645 | 3,720 | 1,746 | 1755 |
| Koregaon | 52.3% | safe | 7,356 | 13,854 | 6,611 | 928 |
| Mahabaleshwar | 47.1% | safe | 229 | 284 | 150 | 5710 |
| Satara | 40.6% | safe | 10,605 | 19,955 | 11,858 | 1818 |
| Jaoli | 20.1% | safe | 4,660 | 5,219 | 4,178 | 3185 |
IN-GRES 2024-2025. The stage of extraction is annual draft as a share of total availability; above 100 percent, more is drawn each year than the taluka is assessed to have. Rainfall recharge is one component of that availability. The year is the hydrological-year label, not an edition date. 1502 of 1502 Panchayats inherit their containing taluka's category by administrative membership, as containing-area context rather than a measurement of the place; 0 are deferred rather than guessed.
Blocks compared
The same measures per block. Where a district average hides a gradient, this is where it shows, and the findings are written before the table rather than left for the reader to find.
Canal share runs from 66.2% in Phaltan to 0.1% in Mahabaleshwar; wells fill the difference, 2.5% of irrigated farmland at the bottom of the gradient against 95.3% at the top.
The tap gap is mostly on the blocks without canal water (Patan (74.7% of households, 0.5% canal), Mahabaleshwar (92.5% of households, 0.1% canal), Jaoli (93.8% of households, 5.9% canal), Man (95.4% of households, 1.6% canal), Khatav (97.0% of households, 3.5% canal) and Karad (98.9% of households, 9.2% canal)); Phaltan (90.5% of households, 66.2% canal), Satara (91.7% of households, 18.3% canal), Koregaon (97.9% of households, 26.6% canal) and Wai (98.7% of households, 13.3% canal) are the exception, with canal water and a gap.
| Drinking water, JJM | Farmland irrigation, Census 2011 | Groundwater, IN-GRES | Water bodies, Census | Water-quality testing, JJM | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Block | Panchayats | Households with a tap | Irrigated area | from canals | from wells | from tanks | Taluka category, projected | Mapped | Untested 90+ d | Longest since tested |
| Jaoli | 125 | 93.8% | 20,658 ha | 5.9% | 7.7% | 0.6% | safe(125 of 125) | 116 | 1 | 432 d |
| Karad | 199 | 98.9% | 44,562 ha | 9.2% | 29.0% | 0.4% | safe(199 of 199) | 372 | 121 | 169 d |
| Khandala | 63 | 99.5% | 19,308 ha | 4.4% | 27.0% | 1.1% | safe(63 of 63) | 208 | 16 | 459 d |
| Khatav | 132 | 97.0% | 69,400 ha | 3.5% | 35.8% | 0.4% | semi-critical(132 of 132) | 485 | 23 | 281 d |
| Koregaon | 142 | 97.9% | 35,827 ha | 26.6% | 42.0% | 3.8% | safe(142 of 142) | 526 | 40 | 165 d |
| Mahabaleshwar | 79 | 92.5% | 13,762 ha | 0.1% | 2.5% | 0.7% | safe(79 of 79) | 59 | 3 | 165 d |
| Man | 95 | 95.4% | 61,666 ha | 1.6% | 31.4% | 0.7% | semi-critical(95 of 95) | 686 | 6 | 262 d |
| Patan | 240 | 74.7% | 54,127 ha | 0.5% | 2.6% | 0.2% | safe(240 of 240) | 109 | 23 | 298 d |
| Phaltan | 130 | 90.5% | 26,642 ha | 66.2% | 95.3% | 2.2% | safe(130 of 130) | 508 | 41 | 832 d |
| Satara | 198 | 91.7% | 39,054 ha | 18.3% | 15.0% | 0.4% | safe(198 of 198) | 190 | 66 | 189 d |
| Wai | 99 | 98.7% | 25,356 ha | 13.3% | 19.2% | 0.2% | safe(99 of 99) | 164 | 67 | 480 d |
Canal, well and tank figures are shares of the irrigated farmland beside them, not of households and not of drinking water. They come from Census 2011 (Census 2011 release; village reference year 2009) and cover only the 1461 Panchayats with a Census land record, so a block with few such records shows a share of a small area. Tap and testing figures are JJM and current at the read date. The talukacategory is the one most of the block’s Panchayats inherit by projection, which here is the taluka the register places them in. Untested counts Panchayats whose most recent water-quality sample is more than 90 days before 2026-09-01; ninety days is the Atlas’s own threshold for calling a series stale, not a statutory testing interval.
Water bodies
The First Census of Water Bodies (Ministry of Jal Shakti, reference years 2017-18 to 2020-21), which locates each water body in a Census village; the LGD's own village list names the Panchayat, so the join is a code match, not a name match.
772 Panchayats have none in the return. 302 rural rows sit in villages the LGD lists under two Panchayats or under none and are counted on the taluka without being assigned, and 31 are in towns. 3,416 carry a recorded coordinate and are drawn on the Panchayat pages; 7 fall outside the district and are not. Owned by Co-operative, State WRD/State Irrigation. Read 2026-09-01.
| Census class | Water bodies |
|---|---|
| Water consv schemes/percolation tanks/check-dams | 3,168 |
| Tank | 220 |
| Ponds | 22 |
| Lakes | 10 |
| Reservoirs | 3 |
Waterspread is not published. The Satara return enters whole-hectare template values on every row (4, 5, 6 or 8 ha on 3,725 rural rows; depth 4 or 5 m; the same four construction year, cost and beneficiary combinations throughout), so the waterspread is an enumerator's default rather than a measurement and is not published. Counts, types, ownership and the recorded coordinates are served.
District Environment Plan
Environment Department, Government of Maharashtra and Maharashtra Pollution Control Board prepared the plan on the CPCB model under the NGT's 2019 order. What it states about water is transcribed below, each figure with the page it sits on; nothing here is computed from it.
Dated 2019-12-30, 12 pages. Read the plan at MPCB (PDF). The label MPCB's listing gives the plan; the PDF itself carries no year on its cover. Its metadata dates the file 30 December 2019 and the filename carries 23 June 2021, the date it was posted.
Transcription checked against the document on 2026-09-01.
| Figure | As stated | Where |
|---|---|---|
Rivers named, with their length in the district Krishna 160 km, Koyna 30 km, Venna 47 km, Nira 43 km, Urmodi 18 km; 13 nallas or drains meet them. | 5 rivers | p. 7 (PDF p. 8) |
Sewage generated by the urban local bodies Against 21.5 MLD of treatment capacity. | 49.75 MLD | p. 7 (PDF p. 8) |
Sewage treatment capacity in the urban local bodies Against 49.75 MLD generated. | 21.5 MLD | p. 7 (PDF p. 8) |
Sewage conveyance network The plan attributes most of the treatment deficit to the short conveyance network. | 41.83 km | p. 7 (PDF p. 8) |
Bore-wells with permission to extract groundwater (estimate) The plan's own word is 'estimated'. | 85,562 bore-wells | p. 8 (PDF p. 9) |
Groundwater available Stated without a source or an assessment year; IN-GRES assesses the district's annual extractable resource separately, and the two are not reconciled here. | 94,421 ha m | p. 8 (PDF p. 9) |
Industries generating effluent Agro-based and metallurgical units are the prominent types. | 1,538 industries | p. 8 (PDF p. 9) |
Industrial effluent generated From 1,538 industries; 38 of them are recorded as meeting standards. | 275.97 MLD | p. 8 (PDF p. 9) |
Industries recorded as meeting standards Of the 1,538 generating effluent. | 38 industries | p. 8 (PDF p. 9) |
Additional sewage treatment capacity the plan calls for An action point in Table 3, stated as approximate. | 60 MLD | p. 8 (PDF p. 9) |
Action points the plan sets for water: thorough mapping of surface water resources, with an extensive assessment of quality; criticality indicators to be established for each water body or resource; extend the water-quality monitoring network, and set up online monitoring for surface water bodies; approximately 60 mld of sewage treatment capacity needed; strengthen the sewage collection network to cover the whole population; in situ treatment for river stretches, and a policy for reuse and recycling of treated wastewater. Two things to know when reading the PDF: The cover page header reads 'District Environment Plan: Latur'; every inner page header and the body read Satara. The Koyna is spelled 'Konya' in the river list.
Find a Gram Panchayat
Every one of the 1502 LGD-coded Gram Panchayats is listed. A place shows a water profile only where its evidence cleared the floor (identity, population and drinking-water service established); the rest are directory records, kept so they can be found and reviewed.
1502 Gram Panchayats. 1 reviewed brief, 1466 water profile, 35 directory record.
| Gram Panchayat | Block | LGD code | Brief |
|---|---|---|---|
| Aane | Karad | 189168 | Water profile |
| Abaichiwadi | Karad | 189170 | Water profile |
| Abdarwadi | Patan | 189821 | Water profile |
| Abhepuri | Wai | 190364 | Water profile |
| Achali | Mahabaleshwar | 189004 | Water profile |
| Adarki Bk. | Phaltan | 190055 | Water profile |
| Adarki Kh. | Phaltan | 190056 | Water profile |
| Adarshnagar | Karad | 189171 | Water profile |
| Addev | Patan | 189818 | Water profile |
| Adul Gaon | Patan | 189822 | Directory record |
| Adul Peth | Patan | 189823 | Water profile |
| Agalavewadi | Jaoli | 189005 | Water profile |
| Agundewadi | Satara | 190177 | Water profile |
| Ahire | Mahabaleshwar | 189006 | Water profile |
| Ahire | Khandala | 189360 | Water profile |
| Ajnuj | Khandala | 189361 | Water profile |
| Akaichiwadi | Karad | 189172 | Water profile |
| Akale | Satara | 190178 | Water profile |
| Akalpe | Mahabaleshwar | 189007 | Water profile |
| Akhade | Jaoli | 189008 | Water profile |
| Akhegani | Jaoli | 189009 | Water profile |
| Akoshi | Wai | 190365 | Water profile |
| Alavadi - Dhavali | Satara | 190179 | Water profile |
| Alewadi | Jaoli | 189010 | Water profile |
| Algudewadi | Phaltan | 190057 | Water profile |
| Aljapur | Phaltan | 190058 | Water profile |
| Amashi | Mahabaleshwar | 189011 | Water profile |
| Ambale | Patan | 189824 | Water profile |
| Ambale - Raighar | Satara | 190180 | Water profile |
| Ambarwadi | Khandala | 189362 | Water profile |
| Ambavade | Karad | 189173 | Water profile |
| Ambavade | Khatav | 189421 | Water profile |
| Ambavade Bk. | Satara | 190181 | Water profile |
| Ambavade Kh. | Patan | 189825 | Water profile |
| Ambavade- Kd. | Satara | 190182 | Water profile |
| Ambavade-S-Wagholi | Koregaon | 189548 | Water profile |
| Ambavane | Patan | 189826 | Water profile |
| Ambawade S. Koregaon | Koregaon | 189550 | Water profile |
| Ambeghar T Marali | Patan | 189827 | Water profile |
| Ambeghar T. Medha | Jaoli | 189013 | Water profile |
The district on a map
Every Panchayat with a mapped boundary is plotted from the centre of its own DataMeet polygon, not from a hand-entered coordinate. The marker is the Panchayat, not a settlement.
1444 of 1502 Panchayats have a mapped boundary. The polygons are DataMeet's community digitisation of the 2001 Census village map (ODbL), joined to the 2011 codes and dissolved to each Panchayat's member villages; each taluka and Panchayat page draws them.
How current these figures are
Not everything on this page is from the same year, and the gap is large. What each figure describes is listed separately from when the Atlas last read it, straight from each artifact's own record.
| Figures | Describes | Last read | Produced | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Panchayat list and codes | LGD edition 2026-09-01 | 2026-09-01 | 2026-09-01 | Local Government Directory (Ministry of Panchayati Raj) as republished on data.gov.in: the Panchayat list, its covered villages and the taluka list, refreshed monthly. |
| Drinking-water service, sources, testing | current at 2026-09-01 | 2026-09-01 | 2026-09-01 | Jal Jeevan Mission citizen corner: habitations, tap connections, sources, sample rows. |
| Land, irrigation and seasonal sources | Census 2011 release; village reference year 2009 | 2026-09-01 | 2026-09-01 | Census 2011 village tables, the newest village-level irrigation enumeration served here. No current reading is wired: the Satara District Socio-Economic Review 2024 prints area irrigated by source only for 2015-16 with the wells column not stated, the national Land Use Statistics tables are reachable only from within India, and the 2017-18 Minor Irrigation Census (wells and tanks by village) is not wired yet. |
| Groundwater assessment | 2024-2025 | 2026-09-01 | 2026-09-01 | IN-GRES, assessed per revenue taluka. The year is the hydrological-year label. |
| Groundwater projected to Panchayats | 2024-2025 | 2026-09-01 | 2026-09-01 | Each Panchayat inherits its taluka's category through the register's own membership. |
| Rainfall | 2026-08-02 to 2026-09-01 | 2026-09-01 | 2026-09-01 | Open-Meteo reanalysis at a grid point inside each Panchayat, not a gauge. |
| Water bodies | reference years 2017-18 to 2020-21, published 2023 | 2026-09-01 | 2026-09-01 | First Census of Water Bodies, assigned to each Panchayat through the LGD's own village list; counts, classes and points. |
| Panchayat briefs | 2026-09-01 | 2026-09-01 | 2026-09-01 | Generated from the families above; a place without identity, population and service stays directory-only. |
| Reviewed briefs | reviewed 2026-09-01 | 2026-09-01 | 2026-09-01 | Written by a person for the places named in them; preferred on those pages over the generated brief. |
| District Environment Plan | 2018-19 plan, dated 2019-12-30 | 2026-09-01 | 2026-09-01 | Transcribed from the published PDF with the page each figure sits on; nothing computed from it. |
The land, irrigation and seasonal-source figures are the oldest thing here by a wide margin. India’s 2021 census did not take place, so Census 2011 remains the most recent village-level enumeration and there is no newer source of the same granularity to replace it with. Those figures are kept under capabilities named historical, and the current-crop capability is left empty rather than answered with a 2009 number.